If You Are in a Car Accident and Do Not Have InsuranceGene Halavanau
WHAT IF THE OTHER DRIVER CAUSED THE ACCIDENT?
I recently No_Insurancehad a few clients who were injured as a result of an accident caused by another driver. The clients unfortunately did not have insurance. Some forgot to update credit card information with the insurer, some forgot to make a payment to keep the insurance policy valid, and some simply had to feed the family.
No payments for pain and suffering
If you are temporarily uninsured and under no fault of your own and another driver causes you harm, under California law you cannot collect for pain and suffering. It means that you will still be able to recover property damage to your vehicle and medical bills, but none for the pain and suffering while recovering from your injuries. When we think of a soft tissue injury requiring minimal treatment, the consequence may not seem severe. However, the same rule applies to serious injuries that may take years to heal and cause permanent effect to an individual’s health.
Penalties driving without car insurance
Insurance companies are obligated to report to DMV when the coverage is terminated. If and when your insurer notifies the DMV that the company no longer insures your case, you may be subject to many penalties, including driver’s license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, and fines and reinstatement fees. If you are involved in an accident with no fault of your own, DMV may also find out about the lapse in your coverage because of a mandatory accident reporting requirement for all accidents with property damage exceeding $750.
WHAT IF YOU CAUSE THE ACCIDENT?
In addition, if you drive uninsured and at least partially at fault causing an accident, you are financially fully or partially responsible for damages and injuries that occur. It can have devastating financial consequence. While minimum insurance limit required by California law is $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident, a driver at fault is still personally liable for any excess damages above the policy limit. Thus, if you want to protect your personal assets and assets of your family, you should consider having higher liability limits.
Please take 10 minutes of your time, call your insurance broker, log in to your insurance policy account and make sure that you have a valid coverage with sufficient limits. Drive safely.